

ANNUAL GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Thursday, March, 28 2019 5:00pm Young 216, Lansdowne MINUTES

Call to Order

Keith Todd, President, called the 2019 Annual General Meeting to order at 5:05pm and acknowledged the traditional territories on which the meeting was being held.

1. Roll Call of Officers

President	Keith Todd	present
Vice President	Erynne Grant	present
Secretary-Treasurer	Petty Wong	present
Recording Secretary	Michel Turcotte	excused
Chief Shop Steward/Office Coordinator	Erynne Grant	present
Correspondence Secretary	Kelly Speak	present
Education Coordinator	Shelley Butler	excused
Interurban Campus Steward	vacant	
Lansdowne Campus Steward	Naji Yazdi	excused
Health & Safety Coordinator	Shane Johnson	present
Job Evaluation Coordinator	Milo Anstey	excused
Member-at-Large	Melissa Davidson	present
Member-at-Large	Ranbir Prihar	present
Communications Officer	Roseanne Harvey	present
Student Society Sub-Local Representative	Mike Glover	excused

2. Reading of the Equality Statement

Keith Todd read the CUPE Equality Statement.

3. Initiation of New Members

There were no new members present.

4. Approval of Agenda and the Previous AGM Minutes (March 20th, 2018)

There was an error on the date of last year's AGM minutes – start time and end time were incorrect.

MSC: To approve the agenda and the 2018 AGM minutes as presented

5. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the previous AGM minutes

6. **Annual Reports** (Reports are posted at http://2081.cupe.ca/news/)

- Secretary-Treasurer Petty Wong presented her report for the 2018 fiscal year and the budget for 2019. She had a recommendation to have a capital budget separate from the operational budget (in order to replace furniture and equipment in the union office).

- Vice President Erynne Grant summarized her report, as posted on the CUPE 2081 website
- Education Coordinator Shelley Butler, Recording Secretary Michel Turcotte, Job
 Evaluation Coordinator Milo Anstey, were absent and their reports were summarized by
 Erynne Grant
- Health and Safety Coordinator Shane Johnson summarized his report, as posted on the CUPE 2081 website
- Communications Officer Roseanne Harvey summarized her report, as posted on the CUPE 2081 website
- Board of Governors representative Joanne Cumberland submitted a report and Erynne summarized in her absence
- President Keith Todd gave an oral report and announced that he has one more year in his term. He plans on retiring from the college in 2020.

MSC: to approve the executive reports.

7. Executive Board Recommendations

There were no recommendations.

8. Election of Officers, Committees and Representatives

Keith Todd conducted the elections for the following positions with Trustees assisting with balloting:

Position	Nominated	Elected
Vice President	Shane Johnson	Shane Johnson
Secretary-Treasurer	Petty Wong	Petty Wong
Recording Secretary	Michel Turcotte	Michel Turcotte
Chief Shop Steward/Office	Erynne Grant	Erynne Grant
Manager		
Job Evaluation Coordinator	Milo Anstey	Milo Anstey
Member-at-Large: two	1) Ranbir Prihar	1) Ranbir Prihar
positions	2) Melissa Davidson	2) Melissa Davidson
Campus Steward	None	None
(Interurban) - 1 year		
Health and Safety	1) Ana Maria Garcia	1) Ana Maria Garcia
Committee: 2	Nancy Ellen Mabey	2) Nancy Ellen Mabey
representatives		
Victoria Labour Council: 5	1) Kelly Speak	1) Kelly Speak
representatives	2) Shane Johnson	2) Pamela Vivian
	3) Pamela Vivian	3) Shane Johnson
	4) Susan Rudiger	4) Susan Rudiger
	5) Charles Campbell	5) Charles Campbell
	6) Roseanne Harvey	

Vancouver Island District	1) Susan Rudiger	1) Susan Rudiger
Council: 11 representatives	Roseanne Harvey	Roseanne Harvey
	Melissa Davidson	Melissa Davidson
	4) Michel Turcotte	4) Michel Turcotte
	5) Keith Todd	5) Keith Todd
	6) Erynne Grant	6) Erynne Grant
	7) Pamela Vivian	7) Pamela Vivian
Trustee – 3 year	None	
Trustee – 1 year	None	

MSC: To ratify the election results and to destroy the ballots

9. Oath of Office

Keith Todd administered the Oath of Office to the elected offices and representatives

10. **New Business** (motions from the floor – only if there is quorum)

10.01 Election of 5 delegates to the 56th Annual CUPE BC Convention in Victoria, May 1st to 4th 2019.

 Nominations were opened and elections were held. The following members were elected as delegates to Convention:

> Erynne Grant Ranbir Prihar Shane Johnson Pamela Vivian

Petty Wong

MSC: For the Trustees to destroy the ballets

11. **Good of the Union** (announcements, commendations, concerns)

- President Keith Todd said goodbye to Karen Weiss before she retires and thanked her for her involvement in the union over the years.
- Shane Johnson thanked Erynne Grant for stepping up to the "Labour Relations Officer" (working title) position.
- Bonnie Stackhouse thanked the trustees for their work, and Susan Rudiger thanked both of the outgoing trustees for everything she's learned.

12. Adjournment

MSC: To adjourn at 7:08pm.